Answers and Results for QotW 7A (posted 9/28/20)

We had 17 people respond to this set of questions. We would like to bump up those numbers. If you or others want to get automatically notified of new questions and answers, subscribe at the bottom of any page.

Our respondents were all from Illinois and generally pretty experienced. You can see some graphs below.

For those wishing to go back and look at previous questions and answers, you can click on “Q&A” at the top right of the page.

There was a concern that the videos were too small. There is an easy way to see the videos in a larger window. You can click on the video, then click on the YouTube link, which opens another tab. You can then resize things even bigger if desired.

For those who are involved with organizations, if we get a handful or more responses for your organization and you let us know, we can send you your organization’s specific results.

Questions and Answers

Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4

Question 1
Correct Answer: Correct

It is good to see that this was just about unanimously answered correctly. That means that we have moved past the old “solid color” rule and are correctly using the “predominant color” rule. Per Rule 4-2-2:

The libero uniform top must clearly contrast from the predominant color(s) of the team uniform top, excluding trim. The libero’s uniform top cannot be made solely of the same predominant color(s) of the team’s uniform top, even if the like color(s) are placed differently on the uniform top…

In this case, the four-inch side panel on the team jersey is not large enough to be considered a predominant color. That means that white is the only predominant color. Thus, the libero jersey can be all red and comply with the rule.

Question 2
Correct Answer: Incorrect

There was a change made several years ago to standardize the way that lineups are submitted. This was mainly done to assist scorers to make it easier for them to record the lineups. The piece of the rule that is pertinent here is 7-1-2a:

No later than two minutes prior to the end of timed prematch warmup, a coach from each team shall submit to the second referee an accurate, written lineup listing the uniform numbers for the six starting players in the proper serving order.

While it isn’t 100% clear from reading this, the intent of “listing… players in the proper serving order” is a sequential list of servers (first through sixth), not a pictorial representation of where they are positioned on the court at the start of the set. An example is in the Case Book p. 68 Diagram 1, which shows the desired format for submitting the lineup on top and the court position on the bottom.

Question 3
Correct Answer: (D) Remove the two points and award a loss of rally/point to Team R (who will serve next).

We did very well as a group on this one. An important point here is that even though the team figured out the problem itself and asked for the lineup check, it does not negate the fact that the wrong person served two points. Even though the serve is discussed in Rule 8, the actual penalties to apply here are listed under Rule 6-4 PENALTIES 2:

2. For an improper server… loss of rally shall be awarded as soon as the improper server is discovered and verified.

a. When an improper server is discovered prior to the contact of the first serve by the opposition team, all points earned by the improper server shall be canceled.

So, in this case, we remove the two points that were served and then award a loss of rally/point to the opposition. The opponents will rotate and serve next.

Question 4
Correct Answer: Correct

An important concept here is that even though the setter makes a what looks like a “blocking motion,” this cannot be a block. The definition of a block (in Rule 9-5-1c) says the player “deflects the ball coming from the opponent.” Since the ball has been passed from her teammate, regardless of how the player’s action looks, it is the team’s second hit and not a block.

If we watch closely, it should be clear that the setter makes multiple contacts with the ball. Since this is the team’s second hit, multiple contacts by one player (as defined in Rule 9-4-8) are not allowed. There may be some thought towards giving some leniency and not whistling this under the “increase in continuation of play” guidelines for challenging or spectacular plays from the 2019-20 Points of Emphasis for ball handling (see 2019-20 Rule Book p. 54 and below for reference). However, it is import to realize that the additional leniency only applies to balls directed to a teammate. Thus, a double hit call here is appropriate.

Additionally, when evaluating ball handling it is important to understand the focus of an increase in continuation of play when judging second ball contacts that are directed to a teammate. Below are tips to use when assessing second ball contacts.

* A player in good position must play the ball without discernible double contacts.

*Less severe judgment is applied to a contact by a player who makes a challenging or spectacular play while maintaining a legal play.

*Mishandled balls resulting in a blatant fault should be called, regardless of the challenging or spectacular nature of the play.

2019-20 Rule Book (Points of Emphasis) p. 54

Subscribe to stay informed of new questions and answers

Click at the bottom of the page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at
Get started
%d bloggers like this: